Classic Mountain Songs ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

From the time of its inception in the middle of the 20th century, the Folkways label recorded plenty of traditional folk music from the Southern Appalachians. This well-chosen collection, oriented mostly though not totally toward tracks with vocals, has a couple of dozen examples from the Folkways catalog. Though it's not always totally clear when the songs were recorded (as opposed to issued), it's for certain that they were laid down between the mid-'50s and mid-'90s, with the bulk of them cut during the 1960s. While some ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Omie Wise
  2. Sugar Baby
  3. I Am a Poor Pilgrim of Sorrow
  4. Sixteen Tons
  5. John Henry
  6. Lost Indian
  7. Southbound
  8. High on a Mountain
  9. Coal Creek March
  10. Coal Miner Blues
  11. Railroad Blues
  12. Cuckoo Bird
  13. Conversation With Death
  14. Lone Prairie
  15. Rain and Snow
  16. Mole in the Ground
  17. Moonshiner
  18. Wildwood Flower
  19. Barbry Ellen
  20. Daniel Prayed
  21. Wreck of the Number Nine
  22. Red Jacket Mine Explosion
  23. Kingdom Come
  24. Amazing Grace
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions