The Joy Luck Club

by

Show Synopsis

In 1949, four Chinese women--drawn together by the shadow of their past--begin meeting in San Francisco to play mah jong, invest in stocks and "say" stories. They call their gathering the Joy Luck Club--and forge a relationship that binds them for more than three decades. A celebrated novel in the tradition of Alice Adams and Margaret Atwood from the bestselling author of The Kitchen God's Wife.

Filter Results
Shipping
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

dean w

Aug 17, 2013

Excellent Book with a lot of good insight

This book is great for insights of 4 different pairs of mother-daughter combinations. The author uses wonderful way to describe how culture and generation gap builk and torn through life time experience. Great book and highly recommended.

CARLOS V

Jul 14, 2012

sweet, charming, light

i appreciate the work that went into crafting this book. i wouldn't quite call it a novel, nor is it a collection of stories. it's a fictionalization or an irrealistic rendering of survival narratives particular to "chinese american" women. more than that, it seems to be a working out of the mother-daughter relationships, the differences that arise and conflicts that shape the generations of women. in the end, the story is charming, but maybe a little reductive about some of the other important issues like race relations and lacks some depth of relationship. you'll feel good. ginger chicken soup for the soul.

Mary Jo G

Oct 27, 2011

Not a favorite

This book was difficult to understand. Even the second half which was the 'American' version didn't make much sense. I only bought it because my Asian friend said the movie was wonderful. I prefer books rather than movies but in this case it might just be the opposite.

Jennifer H

Aug 5, 2010

Joy Luck Classic

A classic read. I will read and read again for years to come. Wonderful piece of art.

Ellyb

Apr 13, 2008

Exquisite

"The Joy Luck Club" is beautiful, moving, and keeps a strong sense of integrity in its portrayals of all the women contained in its pages. This is some seriously exquisite writing, for even though it is a novel which eschews "aboutness," I found myself unable to put it down. When I was reading it, my dad looked over my shoulder and remarked, "Isn't that a great book?" This book may be focused on Chinese women, but the truths it posits about generational differences are universal, crossing race and gender lines. I look forward to forgetting everything about this book so that I can rediscover it one day.

See All 6 Reviews


This item doesn't have extra editions

loading