Show Synopsis

The title of this U.S. release may promise a bit too much; there's no way to know whether the proto-feminist artist Artemisia Gentileschi heard these pieces, and the program certainly doesn't cover the range of music she might have heard (there's no sacred music, for example). The program was devised for live performances at which paintings by Gentileschi and Caravaggio were projected on screens behind the stage. That's not possible in CD or streaming formats, although the graphics include some nice reproductions. It doesn ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Sinfonia La gran battaglia
  2. L'onda che limpida, suite for soprano & continuo (Libro secundo di villanelle)
  3. Corrente for lute No. 6 (from Book 1 of D'Intavolatura di Lauto)
  4. Capona (Intavolatura di chitarrone, Book 4)
  5. Amanti, io vo so dire, for voice & continuo
  6. Canzona for keyboard in D minor (Munich MS 1581; CEKM 30/2, No. 22)
  7. Folle Cor, concerto for 3 voices & continuo
  8. Sinfonia
  9. Lasciatemi qui solo, aria for voice & continuo (from Il primo libro delle Musiche, Firenze)
  10. Toccata
  11. Chi desia di saper, for voice & continuo
  12. Sonata prima, for 2 instruments & continuo No. 1 in C major (Sonata Concertate I/1)
  13. Et è pur dunque vero, madrigal for soprano (from Scherzi musicali), SV 250
  14. Come dolce hoggi l'auretta spira, madrigal for 3 voices (from Book 9), SV 173
  15. Sinfonia à 2, for guitar & virginal
  16. Sinfonia la buon'hora
  17. Occhi belli, occhi miei, cantata for 2 voices & continuo
  18. Folias (a 3) echa para mi Señora Doña Tarolilla de Carallenos
  19. Festa, riso, gioco, e gioia
  20. Symphonia
  21. No More Shall Meads Be Decked with Flowers, song
  22. Though I am young
  23. Fan battaglia, cantata for 3 soprano voice & continuo
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions