The Third Life of Grange Copeland


Show Synopsis

Alice Walker's powerful first novel. Alice Walker's first book recounts the lives of three generations growing up in Georgia, where the author herself grew up. Grange Copeland is a black tenant farmer who is forced to leave his land and family in search of a better future. He heads North but discovers that the racism and poverty he experienced in the South are, in fact, everywhere. When he returns to Georgia years later he finds that his son Brownfield has been imprisoned for the murder of his wife. But hope comes in the ...

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review


Dec 16, 2012

Another vital Alice Walker book

I don't know why this book is overlooked; it's profound in writing, in content, in brutality and hope, in generational change, and it gives an overview of lives with no choice; I mention it a lot to my writing students, and I finally found a copy. I've read all of Alice Walker. Find this book.

See All Customer Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions