The Four Loves


Show Synopsis

C.S. Lewis's famous inspirational work on the nature of love. C.S. Lewis's famous work on the nature of love divides love into four categories: Affection, Friendship, Eros and Charity. The first three are loves which come naturally to the human race. Charity, however, the Gift-love of God, is divine in its source and expression, and without the sweetening grace of this supernatural love, the natural loves become distorted and even dangerous.

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

John Q

Mar 1, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this book

Great read from a man who knows how to express what the Christian faith means in his life.


Jul 28, 2011

This is a book I would recommend to everyone who wants to discover what love means. It is the most thorough and wise book I have ever read on the subject. It is another non-stop read and re-read from cover to cover. It is a book about which one must make notes, highlight and stop intermittintly to breathe and reflect. It is a book one reads from evening to daybreak.


Apr 9, 2010

Not just philosophy, but explanation of experience

C.S. Lewis' Four Loves has long been respected as a philosophical work, but for those who have not yet read it: it is a must read for other reasons. Excellent, humanistic explanations and thoughts of the what's and why's of the different loves that every person encounters will change the way that the reader lives in love.


Jan 31, 2008

Deep philosophical work

In this clearly thought out and well written book, Lewis discusses the nature of love as it relates both to God and to our everyday lives. He talks about four types of love: affection, friendship, eros, and charity, detailing the rewards and perils of each. While you may not always agree with Lewis, this book will certainly make you think.

See All Customer Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions