Surface Detail


Show Synopsis

The ninth Culture book from the awesome imagination of Iain M. Banks, a modern master of science fiction. It begins in the realm of the Real, where matter still matters. Lededje Y'breq is one of the Intagliated, her marked body bearing witness to a family shame, her life belonging to a man whose lust for power is without limit. Prepared to risk everything for her freedom, her release, when it comes, is at a price, and to put things right she will need the help of the Culture. It begins in the realm of the Real. It begins ...

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Joseph D

Jun 23, 2020

Rollicking Adventure

This story from the world of Iain M. Banks' Culture science fiction world can be read as a standalone novel, as is the case for the rest in the series. Interesting characters develop and have strange adventures. There are a few scary bits regarding virtual Hells and the Intagliate, and these are well-told. There's so much cool technology in the Culture: spaceship Minds, intelligent floating drones, and neural laces to name but three. Not sure how everything in the Culture works, though, without private property and commerce. The bad guy is a businessman in a non-Culture star system.

See All Customer Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions