Still Life


Show Synopsis

The CWA Dagger-winning first novel from worldwide phenomenon and number one New York Times bestseller Louise Penny, introducing Chief Inspector Armand Gamache. The discovery of a dead body in the woods on Thanksgiving Weekend brings Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and his colleagues from the Surete du Quebec to a small village in the Eastern Townships. Gamache cannot understand why anyone would want to deliberately kill well-loved artist Jane Neal, especially any of the residents of Three Pines - a place so free from crime ...

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Beverly B

Oct 31, 2013

The First of an Adventure

Still Life is the first in a series of mysteries with Chief
Inspector Armand Gamache. Loved it. I read A Beautiful Mystery first not knowing there was a series.
So now I am starting from the beginning. Still Life
sets the stage of the characters in Three Pines who
will be integrated in future adventures in this small town in Canada.

Ronald B

Aug 15, 2013

What a Find!

This is the first in her series of Inspector Gamache books. The character development and place descriptions are wonderful. I've signed up for the series.

Dorothy S

Oct 13, 2011

Terrific series

Still Life by Louise Penny is the first of a series called "Three Pines". The writing is excellent, the poetry inclusions are compelling, and various side thoughts the author includes are thought provoking. I'm recommending these to all my mystery-loving friends.


Jan 24, 2011

You'll get hooked on the series

This mystery was deserving of its accolades. Buy it. Read it. You'll be hooked on Louise Penny's writing.


Mar 11, 2010

Well spun tale

Having created a very engaging and believable world of a Quebec small town the author goes on to provide a tale threaded with analyzing the foibles of our human condition. A marvelous and compelling read that brings cause for reflection on our own lives while a murder mystery gets solved.

See All 7 Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions