Southern Journey, Vol. 8: Velvet Voices ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

Recorded mostly in Virginia in 1960 (two recordings were made in St. Simon's Island, GA), this documents African-American folk musics of the region, focusing mostly on gospel quartets, although there are also some fife-and-banjo tunes. This has to count as one of the more accessible installments in the Southern Journey series; the singing is up to the level of what you'd expect from most gospel acts with record deals, but the execution is less slick and calculated. The Peerless Four even use electric guitar, piano, and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Run to Jesus for Refuge
  2. Joe Turner
  3. The Titanic
  4. Witness for My Lord
  5. Dark Day
  6. Very Same Lord
  7. Gospel Train
  8. I Got a Home
  9. Hey, Hey, Honey
  10. Menhaden Chanteys: Evalina/Promised Land/Bitin' Spider
  11. Walk on the Bay
  12. I'm Tired
  13. Just Beyond the River
  14. Christian Automobile
  15. John the Revelator
  16. Walk, Billy Abbot
  17. How Could I Live
  18. Noah
  19. Trouble in My Way
  20. I'm a Soldier in the Army of the Lord
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions