Southern Journey, Vol. 3: 61 Highway Mississippi ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

Twenty-four tracks from Alan Lomax's 1959 blues recordings in Mississippi, five previously unreleased. Fred McDowell (who has five songs) is the "star," you might say, of these sessions; he would go on to establish a successful performing and recording career, and is the only name recognizable to most listeners. This is an effective document, however, of the different strands of country blues and their roots. It includes not just rural Delta guitar blues, but also field hollers, spirituals, prison songs, fife-and-drum tunes ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Louisiana
  2. Jim and John
  3. 61 Highway Blues
  4. Stewball
  5. Po' Boy Blues
  6. God's Unchanging Hand
  7. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning
  8. Emmaline, Take Your Time
  9. I'm Gonna Live Anyhow 'Till I Die
  10. Little Sally Walker
  11. Old Devil's Dream
  12. Rolled and Tumbled
  13. Mama Lucy
  14. Soon One Mornin' (Death Come A-Creepin' in My Room)
  15. I'm Goin' Home
  16. Interview
  17. Fred McDowell's Blues
  18. Tryin' to Make Heaven My Home
  19. Berta, Berta
  20. Germany Blues
  21. Clarksdale Mill Blues
  22. If It's All Night Long
  23. Lord Have Mercy
  24. Didn't Leave Nobody But the Baby
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions