South America, Take It Away: 24 Latin Hits ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

A serviceable introduction to the music of Xavier Cugat, this Living Era compilation focuses on the years 1935-1946. The material predates Cugat's glitzier lounge recordings from the 1950s and '60s, providing textbook examples of rhumbas, tangos, congas, boleros, and sambas. These charmingly old-fashioned "exotic" performances mingle traditional Latin American dance music with North American pop sensibilities, using an attractive assemblage of guitars, flutes, reeds, violins, sanguine accordion, and mellifluous marimba. ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Lady in Red
  2. Jalousie (Jealousy)
  3. Estrellita
  4. Ahi, Viene la Conga (Here Comes the Conga)
  5. La Golondrina (The Swallow)
  6. Cielito Lindo (Lovely Sky)
  7. La Paloma (The Dove)
  8. Night Must Fall
  9. Perfidia (Tonight)
  10. Yours (Quiereme Mucho)
  11. La Cumparsita
  12. Jungle Drums
  13. The Breeze and I
  14. Frenesi (Frenzy)
  15. Green Eyes
  16. I, Yi, Yi, Yi, Yi (I Like You Very Much)
  17. Brazil
  18. Tico Tico
  19. Siboney
  20. Baía
  21. Hasta Mañana (Until Tomorrow)
  22. You Belong to My Heart
  23. No Can Do]
  24. South America, Take It Away!
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions