Six Bits a Day


Show Synopsis

Hewey Calloway returns in this novel of his younger years as he and his brother Walter leave the family farm in 1889 to find work in the West Texas cow country. The events of "Six Bits a Day" precede those of Kelton's bestselling "The Good Old Boys" and "The Smiling Country."

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Mike R

Sep 15, 2017

Six bits a Day Serendepitous Kelton Fiction

This little dandy outlines how Hewey Calloway changed from Farmer to Cowhand, and how his reluctant brother just sought new farmland. To give brother Walter credit, he gave cowboying an honest try. Hewey Calloway is one of the coolest characters of whom I have ever read. I have found three Calloway novels by Kelton; the other two being THE GOOD OLD BOYS and THE SMILING COUNTRY. There seems to be a gap in time between SIX BITS A DAY and THE GOOD OLD BOYS. If there is another I haven't discovered it. Kelton's stories about life in Texas are not only historical, they are heartwarming.

See All Customer Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions