River of Song: A Musical Journey Down the Mississippi ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

River of Song is a companion double-CD set to a four-part 1999 PBS television series of the various styles of music found along the Mississippi River, from northern Minnesota to the river's mouth in Louisiana. It has 36 complete performances that the documentary makers recorded as part of the project, encompassing Delta blues (Robert Lockwood, Jr.), Native American powwows, Cajun (D.L. Menard) and zydeco (Geno Delafose), New Orleans soul (Irma Thomas), rockabilly (Sonny Burgess), singer/songwriter folk (Greg Brown), ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Powwow Song
  2. 22
  3. Sail Away Ladies
  4. I Did My Best
  5. Red-Headed Swede
  6. The Singing Leaf
  7. I'll Open My Mouth to the Lord/I'll Be Ready
  8. Kim Marie
  9. Jazz Me Blues
  10. La Unica Estrella
  11. Flat Stuff
  12. Miss Ferris
  13. Born to Be with You
  14. Milestone
  15. I'm So Grateful
  16. Stop Breaking Down
  17. Get Down, River
  18. La Guignolée
  19. The Sweetest Song I Know
  20. T for Texas (Blue Yodel No. 1)
  21. St. Louis Blues
  22. Going Back to Memphis
  23. Take a Little Walk with Me
  24. Catfish
  25. Shake Your Moneymaker
  26. Grits Ain't Groceries
  27. We Praise Your Holy Name
  28. Taters and Gravy and Chicken-Fried Steak
  29. La Back Door (La Porte d'en Arrière)
  30. Bon Chien
  31. Marie Laveau
  32. Basin Street Blues
  33. Time Is on My Side
  34. Check Your Bucket
  35. Let Your Mind Be Free
  36. La Vida de un Jaibero
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions