Negro Blues and Hollers ()


Show Synopsis

These 12 tracks were collected in a joint project by the Library of Congress and Fisk University in 1941 and 1942, concentrating on Mississippi country blues as well as the field hollers and spirituals that were the blues' direct ancestors. A couple of these performers are actually pretty well known; Son House has three cuts and contributes to the "Camp Hollers" selection, while David "Honeyboy" Edwards does a version of "Worried Life Blues." The acoustic blues are okay but not among the greatest vintage Delta stuff ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Camp Hollers
  2. Cornfield Holler
  3. I'm a Soldier in the Army of the Lord
  4. I'm Gonna Lift up a Standard for My King
  5. Worried Life Blues
  6. Ragged and Dirty
  7. Special Rider Blues
  8. Depot Blues
  9. Mississippi Blues
  10. Four O'Clock Flower Blues
  11. East St. Louis Blues
  12. Low Down Dirty Dog Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

This item doesn't have extra editions

Currently there are no copies available. However, our inventory changes frequently. Please check back soon or try Book Fetch.