Show Synopsis

Some people might not have picked the Sixteen, a British choir known for its clean, well-modulated versions of Baroque and Renaissance choral works, often a cappella, as the ideal interpreters of Monteverdi's sprawling, problematical, groundbreaking, and instrumentally accompanied Vespro della beata vergine, better known as the Vespers of 1610. Indeed, this album was released in late 2014, in tandem with a tour visiting various English cathedrals and concert halls, and the tour was the first the group had made with an ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Domine ad adiuvandum, motet for 6 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/1
  2. Dixit Dominus (I), motet for 8 voices (from Messa a quatro voci, et Salmi), SV 191
  3. Nigra sum sed formosa, antiphon for tenor (from Vespers), SV 206/3
  4. Laudate, pueri, Dominum, motet for 8 voices & organ (from Vespers), SV 206/4
  5. Pulchra es, amica mea, motet for 2 sopranos (from Vespers), SV 206/5
  6. Laetatus sum, motet for 6 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/6
  7. Duo Seraphim clamabant, motet for 3 tenors (from Vespers), SV 206/7
  8. Nisi Dominus aedificaverit domum, for 10 voices (from Vespers), SV 206/8
  9. Audi, coelum, verba mea, motet for 7 voices (from Vespro della Beata Vergine), SV 206/9
  10. Lauda, Jerusalem, Dominum (II), motet for 5 voices (from Messa a quatro voci, et Salmi), SV 203
  11. Sonata sopra 'Sancta Maria ora pro nobis', for soprano, 3 horns, 2 trombones, 2 violins & cello (from Vespers), SV 206/11
  12. Ave maris stella, for soprano, tenor & chorus (from Vespro della Beata Vergine), SV 206/12
  13. Magnificat II, for 6 voices and organ (from Vespers), SV 206a
  14. Magnificat I, for 7 voices, 9 winds, 2 violins & cembalo (from Vespers), SV 206/13
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions