Flowers in the Attic


Show Synopsis

The haunting young adult gothic romance classic that launched Virginia Andrews' incredible best-selling career. Up in the attic, four secrets are hidden. Four blonde, beautiful, innocent little secrets, struggling to stay alive... Chris, Cathy, Cory and Carrie have perfect lives - until a tragic accident changes everything. Now they must wait, hidden from view in their grandparents' attic, as their mother tries to figure out what to do next. But as days turn into weeks and weeks into months, the siblings ...

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review


Sep 26, 2014

Love this Series

The Dollanganger series was the first set of books I read by V.C. Andrews. Mind you they are not for any one 12 or younger, Adult themes. This is the first book in the series and it shows the struggles and the mental toll of what happens to these children. I cant fully describe the story without giving some away but if you are and Andrews fan you will love this series to no end.


Jun 25, 2007

How Many Times Have YOU read this book?

If your a girl you MUST read this book. It's like reading the side of a tampon box for the first time. Indulge in some of Victoria's shocking tales and you will never have drama in your life again. Some of you will thank your lucky stars that it is only a book. Unfortunately some of you will relate. Both of you will be spellbound and sigh, wanting more.


Apr 10, 2007


Hats off to V.C. Andrews for producing such an unusual yet captivating novel that had me spellbound! I must admit that I felt that it dragged a bit after the father's death and while the children were in the attic for the first 2 years, perhaps it was purposely done but it was worth it. Before reading this book, I never quite understood that there was a fine line between love and hate, and how easily your own blood could turn against you. The way in which Andrews explained just about everything in such intricate detail made it difficult to comprehend yet this I think made Flowers in the Attic the distinctive novel that it is. It was such a powerful revelation,how a mother's love for her children eventually turned to great distaste, all for the fear that her past mistakes had caught up with her and regaining her paternal affection for the sake of money with the knowledge that innocent children were suffering.


Apr 3, 2007

Flowers in the Attic and Unattainable Happiness

Flowers in the Attic tells the tale of two beautiful brothers and sisters that are double crossed and tortured by the insatiable mother and religiously fanatic maternal grandmother. They live in a life of luxury in the beginning of the book but tragedy strikes and the life they once knew is wrenched from their grasps leaving their broken hearts and lives in shambles. With this tragedy they are all forced to leave all they hold dear, the house, valuable possessions and take only the broken pieces of their hearts. Thus the unfolding of the idea of everlasting happiness recevies its first blow. They story continues along with them moving in with their sadistic grandmother and her ailing husband and the angel-like Dresden Dolls are forced to live in a cramped attic in the far wing of the manor. Minutes pass like hours and hours pass like days until the children realize that what their mother said would be a day turned out to be years.
In these years that passed the children suffered and Christopher and Catherine discover the hidden monster that is puberty alone and without any guidance which proves to be an uphill battle along with the suffering the had to endure at the hands of the grandmother and what they thought was their perfect mother.
With this summary it is easy to say that this book was one that was quite hard to put down. What intrigued me the most about this book was the character Catherine. To be described as such a beautiful girl seemed to have rage pouring from her ears and magnified the thoughts that any sane reader would have exhibited while glued to the books pages, she makes the reader feels as that there is still hope for them to be free from their dungeon if she just holds on to her hatred and doesnt give up.
While all these things are occuring throughout the book each child exhibited their own personal way of cooping with the situation. Christopher represented denial and slightly annoying hope in that he did not believe his mother meant to cause them pain and that there was a pot of gold at the end of their nightmare, Catherine represented rage, the rage against all who wronged them which gave her the necessary drive to survive. Poor Carrie and Cory represented utter defeat and loss of the will to live to the point where they began to wither away.
With these occurances it shows how the auther magnificently detailed the characteristics and thoughts of these characters so well through the eyes and ears of Catherine to the point where you sometimes forget the story is from her perspective, V. C. Andrews describes the faces and gestures and actions made by each character which is the main element that brought this book to life.
This is a book that has started me on the path of hunger to discover what happens after the book ends, the thirst you will feel after this book will seem insatiable and force you to find the next book, and the next book, until you have discovered all the hidden secrets that were started in the Flowers in the Attic.

1 Silent Rating

See All 5 Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions