Father of the Delta Blues: The Complete 1965 Sessions ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

After being rediscovered by the folk-blues community in the early '60s, Son House rose to the occasion and recorded this magnificent set of performances. Allowed to stretch out past the shorter running time of the original 78s, House turns in wonderful, steaming performances of some of his best-known material. On some tracks, House is supplemented by folk-blues researcher/musician Alan Wilson, who would later become a member of the blues-rock group Canned Heat and here plays some nice second guitar and harmonica on several ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Death Letter
  2. Pearline
  3. Louise Mcghee
  4. John the Revelator
  5. Empire State Express
  6. Preachin' Blues
  7. Grinning in Your Face
  8. Sundown
  9. Levee Camp Moan
  10. Death Letter
  11. Levee Camp Moan
  12. Grinning in Your Face
  13. John the Revelator
  14. Preachin' Blues
  15. President Kennedy
  16. A Down the Staff
  17. Motherless Children
  18. Yonder Comes My Mother
  19. Shake It and Break It
  20. Pony Blues
  21. Downhearted Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions