Dreams Rekindled


Show Synopsis

"When a dashing newspaper man comes to Mesquite Springs, aspiring writer Dorothy Clark sees her dreams coming true--until a man arrives with altogether different plans for the town and its newspaper"--

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review


Mar 24, 2021

A complex novel

Dreams Rekindled by Amanda Cabot is the 2nd book in the Mesquite Springs series. Dreams Rekindled can be read as a standalone for those who have not read Out of the Embers. I thought Dreams Rekindled was well-written with developed characters. Nutmeg, Dorothy√Ę‚?¨‚?Ęs rescue dog, was my favorite character. He is a clever and cute canine. I thought the author captured the time-period (button hooks, printing press, the printer√Ę‚?¨‚?Ęs type, a woman√Ę‚?¨‚?Ęs reticule, Uncle Tom√Ę‚?¨‚?Ęs Cabin) and the setting (especially the small-town feel). I enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of Mesquite Springs and the surrounding countryside. Dorothy Clark and Brandon Holloway are attracted to each other from the beginning, but grief and past events prevent them from acting on their feelings. I liked that the characters are realistic with strengths and weaknesses. To counteract the good guys, we have a villain. Phil Blakeslee arrives in town the same day as Brandon. He is an artist who is town for nefarious purposes. He is working for the mysterious Mr. K who has his own agenda for Mesquite Springs. Phil has a troubled background that has influenced his opinion of newsman and ministers. I like how everything came together in this story. Faith is woven into the story. It added just the right note. I enjoyed the suspense and mystery. It added depth to the story. I quickly turned the pages eager to see how this story would turn out. There are some unanswered questions at the end of the book. We will have to wait for the next installment to get those answers. Dreams Rekindled is a complex novel with family, friends, faith, hope, foul play, and forgiveness.

See All Customer Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions