Dead Witch Walking

by

Show Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author, Kim Harrison, comes the first book in an exciting urban fantasy series; packed with the perfect balance of wry humour and thrilling action, which will delight fans of thrillers and fantasy alike. Rachel Morgan is a white witch and runner working for Inderland Security, in an alternate world where a bioengineered virus wiped out a great deal of the world's human population - exposing the existence of the supernatural communities that had long lived alongside humanity. ...

Filter Results
Shipping
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

BeckyJG

Jul 12, 2009

Dead Witch Walking

Kim Harrison's Cincinnati is located in a United States in which witches, vampires, werefolk, and other creatures formerly thought of as inhabiting fable and fiction live side-by-side with humans. Or they have for the last forty years, since "The Turn," when humanity decimated a large percentage of its population with bioengineered diseases...diseases which had no effect on the non-humans they had no idea had always existed alongside themselves.

Rachel Morgan is a witch who works as a runner, bringing down lawbreaking members of the supernatural, or Interlander, community. She's got a price on her head, her roommate and business partner is a non-practicing vampire, and a pixie family lives in her garden.

Kim Harrison has posited an intriguing world, and worked out many of its details in an original and satisfying fashion. Her writing, however--at least in this, the first installment of the series--is awkward and rather hackneyed.

Good for fans of Jim Butcher or Rachel Caine jonesing for a fix between installments.

cwulf

Mar 26, 2009

Dead Witch Walking

Filled with quirky unique characters, this book goes into action mode and never lets up. Just a fun romp into the supernatural.

bjaymart

Mar 25, 2009

I loved it!!!!!!!!!

I am hooked. I only got this book after I read Charlaine Harris' Sookie books. I was so bummed to have to wait for the next one. I am so glad I did I am hooked on the Sexy bounty hunter Rachel Morgan.

litepainter

Apr 25, 2007

The start of a great series.

I loved this book! It's a great combination of funny and serious with characters that show depth and a storyline that is both original and cohesive. After reading it, I ordered all the other books in the series.

lotts1948

Apr 3, 2007

Exciting new slant on an old subject

Rachel Morgan is a witch. She is a good witch. She works for I.S. as a runner; I.S. is the group that polices all the vampires, witches, demons, pixies, etc. Rachel has a hit put out on her and she leaves the I.S. to sit up her own practice. She has to avoid a demon who is centering on her because of powers and abilities she possesses that she does not even recognize. Rachel has a relationship with Jenks, a pixie, who goes on her runs with her and Ivy, who is a "living" vampire and also a runner. The excitement of this book never stops. The detail of the community called "the Hollows" is superb. The character development makes these characters people we want to know better and better. Read this and then read the other books in this series for a great new slant on an old subject.

See All 5 Reviews


This item doesn't have extra editions

loading