Classic Ballads of Britain and Ireland, Vol. 1 ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

Drawn from field recordings made between 1949 and 1969 (gathered now under the umbrella title of Folk Songs of England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales), Classic Ballads of Great Britain and Ireland deals with storytelling songs as recorded by Francis James Child in his English and Scottish Popular Ballads (the first uniform attempt at getting these songs onto paper). Time, naturally, brings changes -- often dramatic ones when it comes to an oral tradition such as folk song -- so this collection is replete with songs varying ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Strawberry Lane
  2. The False Knight upon the Road
  3. The Outlandish Knight
  4. The Douglas Tragedy
  5. The TWA Sisters
  6. Lord Randal
  7. Edward
  8. King Orfeo
  9. The Cruel Mother
  10. Broomfield Hill
  11. Captain Woodburn (Wedderburn's Courtship)
  12. The Two Brothers
  13. The King's Daughter
  14. Lord Bateman
  15. Lord Thomas and Fair Ellen
  16. Lord Lovel
  17. Lord Gregory
  18. Little Musgrave
  19. Barbara Allen
  20. George Collins
  21. False Lamkin
  22. The Pricketty Bush
  23. The Bailiff's Daughter of Islington
  24. The Famous Flower of Servantmen
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions