Show Synopsis

Naxos' six-disc collection of the complete orchestral works of Samuel Barber is a gold mine for fans of the composer. The individual discs date from between 2000 and 2004, and this set was released in 2010 to honor the 100th anniversary of the composer's birth. American conductor Marin Alsop is an ideal choice for surveying these quintessentially American pieces. She clearly has a deeply rooted affinity for Barber's music, with an assured and sensitive grasp of the breadth of its post-Romantic warmth as well as its clarity, ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The School for Scandal, overture for orchestra, Op. 5
  2. Symphony No. 1, Op. 9
  3. Essay for orchestra, Op. 12
  4. Symphony No. 2, Op.19
  5. Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 22
  6. Medea (Serpent Heart), ballet, Op. 23 (rev. as "Cave of the Heart")
  7. Adagio for strings (or string quartet), Op. 11 (arr. from 2nd mvt. of String Quartet)
  8. Violin Concerto, Op. 14
  9. Souvenirs, ballet suite
  10. Serenade, for string quartet or string orchestra, Op. 1
  11. Music for a Scene from Shelley, for orchestra, Op. 7
  12. Piano Concerto, Op. 38
  13. Die Natali, Christmas chorale preludes for orchestra, Op. 37
  14. Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance, for orchestra, Op. 23a
  15. Commando March, for band
  16. Knoxville: Summer of 1915, for high voice & orchestra, Op. 24 (rev. for voice & chamber orchestra)
  17. Second Essay, for orchestra, Op. 17
  18. Third Essay, for orchestra, Op. 47
  19. Toccata Festiva, for organ & orchestra, Op. 36
  20. Capricorn Concerto, for flute, oboe, trumpet & strings, Op. 21
  21. A Hand of Bridge, chamber opera, Op. 35
  22. Mutations from Bach, for brass ensemble & timpani (on "Christe, Du Lamm Gottes")
  23. Vanessa, opera, Op. 32: Intermezzo
  24. Canzonetta for oboe & piano, Op. 48 posth. (arr. for oboe & strings by C. Turner)
  25. Fadograph of a Yestern Scene, for orchestra, Op. 44 (after Joyce: "Finnegan's Wake")
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions