Show Synopsis

Edward Bairstow and William Harris are choral composers not often heard outside Britain, and even there, their music tends to show up in church services (both were organists as well as composers) more often than on recordings. The commercial success of this recording has doubtless been due to the chance to sample their choral music, which follows on that of Stanford and Howells, and even forms a kind of link with the large body of stylistically conservative choral music of today. Their pieces are both more progressive and ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Blessed City, Heavenly Salem for chorus & orchestra/organ
  2. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence for chorus & orchestra/organ
  3. The Lamentation, for chorus & organ
  4. Bring Us, O Lord God, for chorus
  5. Strengthen Ye the Weak Hands, for chorus
  6. Faire Is the Heaven, for chorus
  7. Flourish for an Occasion, for organ
  8. A Song of Wisdom, for chorus (from Bible Songs), Op. 113/11
  9. O for a Closer Walk with God, anthem, Op. 113/12
  10. For Lo, I Raise Up, anthem, Op. 145 (unpublished)
  11. Evening Service (Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis) in A major, Op. 12
  12. Festal Communion Service for chorus & orchestra (or organ) in B flat major, Op. 128: Gloria in excelsis
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency
Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions