Angola Prisoners' Blues ()


Write The First Customer Review
Show Synopsis

In the '50s, Harry Oster made several recordings of African-American inmates at the penitentiary in Angola, Louisiana. These sessions are primarily remembered for the discovery of Robert Pete Williams, but Oster also found several other acoustic blues performers of merit. Several of them are featured on this 20-track, 80-minute CD (which includes three tracks by Williams). Although these singers had hard daily lives and went through hard times before they were jailed, this is hardly a downer record. It's largely first-class ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Prisoner's Talking Blues
  2. Stagolee
  3. Electric Chair Blues
  4. Black Night Is Fallin'
  5. Some Got Six Months
  6. I'm Gonna Leave You Mama
  7. I'm Lonesome Blues
  8. Angola Bound
  9. Worried Blues
  10. Josephine
  11. Soldier's Plea
  12. The Moon Is Rising
  13. I'm Still in Love with You
  14. I Miss You So
  15. Hello, Sue
  16. Fast Life Woman
  17. Careless Love
  18. Have You Ever Heard the Church Bells Tone
  19. 61 Highway
  20. Strike at Camp I
Show Fewer Tracks

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

This item doesn't have extra editions