Angels Flight


Show Synopsis

When the body of high profile black lawyer Howard Elias is found inside one of the cars on Angels Flight, a cable railway in downtown Los Angeles, there's not a detective in the city who wants to touch the case. For Elias specialized in lawsuits alleging police brutality, racism, and corruption, and every LAPD cop is a possible suspect in his killing.Detective Harry Bosch is put in charge. Elias's murder occurred on the eve of a major trial: on behalf of black client, Michael Harris, Elias was to bring a civil case against ...

Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review


Nov 16, 2013

A Dark View of Race Relations in Cities:

?Powerful? seems to be an inadequate word for this book. Michael Connelly?s stories are always complex studies of human nature. This book is particularly stark; life and death in LA seems to be ominous and frightening.

If no one has warned you before, it is very helpful to read the Bosch books in order. Harry?s personal life changes over the course of these books. Connelly doesn?t spend time recounting how Harry got to the position he?s in; this book opens with Harry looking for his wife, Eleanor.

The author tries to offer some explanations for riots and hostile interactions between the races in this polyglot city. However, I came away with a feeling of hopelessness; the positions of the combatants are solidified and no one is really listening.

The police hierarchy and the political spin-doctors do whatever keeps them in power; they pay lip-service to the ideas of honesty and justice. Sadly, this seems to be a realistic view of life in today?s American cities.

Between the gruesome close and the general timbre of this novel, this is not a cheery book. After reading this, however, I felt that I had a better grasp of the issues that create and maintain the tensions between the races and police. I also feel little hope for the future of large, multicultural cities.

Harry Bosch Series
1. The Black Echo (1992)
2. The Black Ice (1993)
3. The Concrete Blonde (1994)
4. The Last Coyote (1995)
5. Trunk Music (1997)

See All Customer Reviews

This item doesn't have extra editions