Ancillary Justice

by

Show Synopsis

Ancillary Justice is Ann Leckie's stunning debut -- the only novel to ever win the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke awards -- about a ship's AI who becomes trapped in a human body and her quest for revenge. A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey. There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could. -- John Scalzi On a remote, icy planet, the soldier known as Breq is drawing closer to completing her quest. Once, she was the Justice of Toren -- a colossal ...

Filter Results
Shipping
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Roger P

Mar 25, 2016

One identity, many bodies

From a science fictional point of view, this series is an exploration of distributed identity: what does it mean for a single consciousness to inhabit many bodies, what are the psychological and ethical ramifications?

From a literary point of view, there are a couple of interesting techniques here. Since the narrator comes from a culture that does not distinguish gender in their language, all characters are referred to as 'she,' regardless of the character's physical sex. The reader will develop opinions about what sex various characters probably are, but it's never made explicit, and you may be forced to reevaluate your assumptions at some point.

Having many bodies with a single mind allows for an unusual First Person Omniscient style in parts of the story; the author clearly enjoyed playing with literary style this way.

This is an enjoyable read, a fairly straightforward Space Opera with a couple of SFnal and stylistic twists to keep you on your toes.

1 Silent Rating

See All Customer Reviews


This item doesn't have extra editions

loading